Places you can visit without a Visa

South African passport holders will completely understand the gauntlet that needs to be endured in order to obtain a travel visa. Most times the process falls short of a blood sample and a home visit. This is despite the fact that the South African passport is the strongest in Africa.

So how do you get around this complicated process? Marry someone with a stronger passport? Stay at home for the rest of your life? Why not visit one of these countries that don’t require South Africans to get a visa.

Just within Africa there are quite a few.

Angola, Benin, Botswana, Djibouti, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius, Mauritania, Mozambique, Namibia, Rwanda, Saint Helena, Senegal, Seychelles, eSwatini (formerly Swaziland), Somalia, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Also Read: Best places to see the Big 5

You can get visas on arrival for the following countries.

Cape Verde, Comoros, Ethiopia, Gabon, Ghana, Guinea-Bissau, Madagascar, Tanzania, Togo Tunisia and Uganda.

South and Central America:

Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Brazil, British Virgin Islands, Bolivia Cayman Islands, Chile, Costa Rica, Dominica, Ecuador, El Salvador, Falkland Islands, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Montserrat, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and Grenadines, Trinidad and Tobago, Turks and Caicos Islands, Uruguay and Venezuela.


This is quite a tough one, most countries do require a visa to enter, however there are a few that make the list:

Ireland, Kosovo, Russia, Georgia and France’s Reunion Island (This is actually closer to SA then Mauritius).


Hong Kong, Macao, Malaysia, Maldives, Philippines, Singapore, and Thailand.

Visa on arrival:

Armenia, Bangladesh, Bahrain, Cambodia, Indonesia, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Nepal, Sri Lanka, Tajikistan, South Korea, and Timor-Leste

Middle East:

Iran, Israel, Palestine, Saudi Arabia, Jordan, Qatar. You will need to get a free e-visa for Turkey


Cook Islands, Fiji, Federated states of Micronesia, Marshall Islands, Nauru, Niue, Palau, Samoa, Tuvalu, Vanuatu.

Remember if you are traveling between countries you might need to get a visa.  

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.